Susanne Fey – mother of Harald
and together with her husband Peter founder of the prize – is engaged in self-help since 2001, initially as the internet manager of the federal state association "Epilepsie Bayern e.V." and its magazine "epikurier". From 2002 to 2020, she was the magazine’s editor in charge.
In October 2001, she was a founding member of the epilepsy parent association ("epilepsie bundes-elternverband", "e.b.e."). In 2003, she took over the management of the main office and was part of the management board of e.b.e until 2020 (from 2006 to 2020 as chairperson).
As a representative of "e.b.e.", she accepted the Sibylle-Ried-Prize in 2009 awarded by the MICHAEL FOUNDATION.
In January 2020, she received the Cross of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany for her longstanding and extraordinary voluntary commitment in the field of epilepsy self-help.

Susanne Fey also contributed to the booklet about SUDEP published by the MICHAEL FOUNDATION in 2019 with a very personal experience report.


for outstanding research regarding SUDEP

The HARALD FEY research prize is awarded by the MICHAEL FOUNDATION for research activities in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland in memory of Harald Fey.
Harald Fey was the son of Susanne and Dr. Peter Fey and died on October 28th, 2007 from SUDEP (Sudden Unexpected Death in Epilepsy).

The HARALD FEY PRIZE is an award for the best scientific research work regarding causes of SUDEP as well as prevention methods and coping strategies for SUDEP. The goal is to stimulate the research of SUDEP in the mentioned countries. It is directed at researchers in medicine, (neuro-) psychology, and rehabilitation.

The prize is endowed with € 5000 and is planned to be awarded every two years at the joined annual conferences of the German and Austrian Societies for Epileptology, and the Swiss League Against Epilepsy.

The prize is funded by a donation of the Fey family to the MICHAEL FOUNDATION.

HARALD FEY PRIZE 2023 awarded

Der HARALD-FEY-PREIS 2023 was awarded to

the team
Nora-Elena Wadle, Christina Schwab, Carola Seifart, Felix von Podewils, Susanne Knake, Laurent M. Willems, Katja Menzler, Juliane Schulz, Nadine Conradi, Felix Rosenow, Adam Strzelczyk.

for the multi-centre prospective and longitudinal study on education about SUDEP.


The members of the jury are:

Prof. Dr. Andreas Schulze-Bonhage, Freiburg
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Stephani, Kiel
Prof. Dr. Rainer Surges, Bonn

Legal recourse is excluded.


Alsstrasse 12
53227 Bonn

Phone:   +49 228 - 94 55 45 40
Fax:         +49 228 - 94 55 45 42
E-mail: poststiftung-michael.de